Behind the story of the Key Peninsula Chicken Lady

Barbara and Marvin Rowland own a 20-acre property they call Sunny Key Farm on the Key Peninsula where they have dozens of animals, including chickens, peafowl, goats, a pony, dogs and cats.
Barbara and Marvin Rowland own a 20-acre property they call Sunny Key Farm on the Key Peninsula where they have dozens of animals, including chickens, peafowl, goats, a pony, dogs and cats.
The Rowlands have had to contend with raising spare chickens simply left at their farm.
The Rowlands have had to contend with raising spare chickens simply left at their farm.

Funny how stories are found and told.

A few days ago I came across one of the funniest (to me anyway) posts I had ever seen as I was scrolling through the Key Peninsula Washington Facebook feed.

O.K. o.k…..#@!#$%^&*%$#@!!!!!!! YOU did it to me again. Last year you dumped 5 game roosters off in the barn pasture. Today you did it in my front yard. The big golden rooster you also dumped didn’t survive the eagle attack last summer. I will usually take peoples extra roosters. Most I am able to sell. Game roosters I can’t. Now these mini hoodlums are tearing up everything. I am going to have to catch them….and….eat them,” wrote Barbara Rowland of Sunny Key Farm.

I grew up with chickens in my father’s farm in the Philippines. I know a little about the birds. The line about “mini hoodlums” left me in stitches.

Next thing I know, I am sharing with fellow editors Rowland’s plea at a gathering of newshounds from The News Tribune at the Swiss in Tacoma.

That left them in stitches.

We all agreed this would make a wonderful story for our columnist Larry LaRue.

So now you know.

Good morning Longbranch.

RELATED CONTENT >>>

Marvin Rowland brings the goats and pony a treat at morning feeding at Sunny Key Farm.
Marvin Rowland brings the goats and pony a treat at morning feeding at Sunny Key Farm.

LARRY LaRUE: Life anything but quiet on this farm.

MORE PHOTOS: A gallery of images from Sunny Key Farm.

WATCH A VIDEO: Hear Barbara Rowland’s farm at feeding time.

Leave a comment