Orcas Pop Up in Longbranch, Key Peninsula

A pod of orcas attracted boaters on Drayton's Passage Saturday evening.
A pod of orcas attracted boaters on Drayton’s Passage Saturday evening.

A pod of orcas popped out of Drayton’s Passage just as the wind began to pick up Saturday evening, forcing my lovely bride and I indoors.

Little did I know the evening’s show was just beginning.

For the next hour we watched the orcas break through the azure water between the Key Peninsula and Anderson Island. The marine show attracted a flotilla of small boats, a sign something was definitely up on the water.

“Look at all the boats on the passage,” my lovely bride said as she grabbed the binoculars. “I wonder what they are seeing.”

A quick minute later she pounded on the glass window for my attention.

“There are orcas on the water,” she shouts. “Oh my God, this is so cool. I’ve never seen them here before.

“They are so graceful,” she adds.

Leave a Reply

