Longbranch: Don’t Let the Blues get You Down

So I just did me some talkin’ to the sun
And I said I didn’t like the way he got things done
Sleepin’ on the job
Those raindrops are fallin’ on my head, they keep fallin’

But there’s one thing I know
The blues they send to meet me won’t defeat me
It won’t be long till happiness steps up to greet me

BJ Thomas, Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head

Watch the video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t30cX6OGO0U

Rain is the forecast for the rest of the week.
Rain is the forecast for the rest of the week.

Don’t be blue Longbranch.

Do not let a little rain dampen your spirits.

According to the weather geeks it is currently 57 degrees and wet as the goofy golden doodle out in the dark doing her business.

Rain is in the offing the rest of the week and it sure looks like the mercury will be stuck around 60 degrees.

It is time to dust off the old board games and stay indoors.

My lovely bride and I spent the evening pushing the balls around the pool table. It had been a while since we went downstairs to shoot the eight ball.

My bride, a.k.a Longbranch Slim, stayed level until the end.

My guess is that I was getting hustled — a mark being fattened for the feast.

Oh well.

With the rains come slick roads. So be safe out there. Slow down a hair and be vigilant of those wood stoves. Let us keep our firefighters playing Scrabble and not responding to our foolishness. From the sound of it, they had a busy week.

Here is Chief Guy Allen’s report from Facebook on the Key Peninsula Fire Department this past week:

This week we had above normal call volume with crews responding to 32 emergency incidents, or 4.6 calls per day. Two of those were mutual aid to Gig Harbor for a vehicle collision and a house fire. 

On the Key Peninsula we had 3 vehicle collisions and we also had a house fire which we called for mutual aid to assist. Having great neighbors is important as we often need each other to get the job done. 

Remember that we recommend changing the batteries in your smoke detectors when you change your clocks, which is coming up fast on November 2nd. So, plan ahead now, get the batteries you need and make a family project out of it to stress the importance of having working smoke detectors. 

They do save lives!

Good morning Longbranch.

Leave a Reply

