Longbranch storm: ‘Heaven’ says weather super geek

Image
The calm before the storm at the Longbranch Marina.
Image
My lovely bride and I poring over news reports of the passing storm.

“Happy Friday Babe,” my lovely bride greets me as I poured my first cup of coffee of the day.

“It was a lightning strike that cut our power,” she said, as she scanned the morning news reports on her iPad.

It was a bit inconvenient to come home to a dark house and on opening night for the NFL. I had to start up our trusty generator so my lovely bride and I could watch what turned out to be a classic drubbing of the meanies from Baltimore by the mile-high ponies of Denver. Well done Mr. Manning and Co.

I stopped at the Longbranch Marina just before the storm hit and bumped into a couple in their sloop, tied up in one of the guest slips.

I asked how they were and the lady of the boat responded: “Wet!”.

That just about summed up the evening, until the power went out.

The News Tribune reported that the weather geeks were expecting hail, thunder and lighting. Well, they were correct on the latter two. Here is the Tacoma paper’s report: http://www.thenewstribune.com/2013/09/05/2768260/marble-sized-hail-torrential-rain.html

Our little weather event did get weather geeks around the Puget Sound all in a tizzy, not the least of them the super weather geek himself Cliff Mass.

At 10 p.m., Mass writes on his blog: “This event is far from over, but it is clear this won’t disappoint active weather lovers.  As I write this, it is thundering and lightning outside and moderate rain is falling.  Heaven.”

Now that is love for atmospheric theater.

“There has been massive amounts of lightning during the past six hours,” he continues, “literally thousands of strikes throughout the Northwest.”

Yes sir there were numerous strikes around our region.

I hope all are safe and be careful on the roads this morning Longbranch.

Image
A snapshot of the passing storm at 8:30 last night.

Leave a Reply

