My Lovely Bride, Love of my Life

RP sandbarmeg#1

My lovely bride soaking up the tropical sun on a sandbar in the Philippines in February 2013.

meg chair

Meg lounging on a deck in Key Caulker, Belize, on our honeymoon in June 2008.

I am grateful for my good fortune.

More so that it all came to me by happenstance.

Today, my lovely bride celebrates a birthday and I celebrate with her.

For my sake.

She redeemed me from the vagaries of life as a bachelor. She takes good care of me. She is my comfort and my joy. She loves me.

Here is what I wrote last year to describe her:

“The one thing that has definitely turned out well for me is meeting my lovely bride. You will absolutely love her. She is an all-American gal who grew up in a two-storey colonial in Guilford, Connecticut. Her childhood home came with a small pond in the backyard. She is a rebellious hippie broad who, with a few San Miguels in her, might have a saltier mouth than a sailor fresh off the deck of an ‘estrangjero’ (a large foreign-flag freighter) anchored on Dumaguete Bay.”

We met in the second acts of our lives — fortuitously enough by a large sugary fruit bowl at a birthday party in Tacoma.

“I’m done with men,” she said to an acquaintance.

I’m glad she reconsidered.

Happy birthday my love.

One response to “My Lovely Bride, Love of my Life

Leave a Reply

