Longbranch Chronicles marks one year of stories and pictures

Image

The morning fog Sunday finally burned off giving visitors to the sandbar a clearer view of the passing boats.

One year ago today, I began this blog to share my impressions on my new home on the Key Peninsula.

This is what I wrote back then: “My blog simply reflects life on the Key Peninsula as I see it through my eyes and camera lenses. I have a few thousand neighbors living south of the Purdy sand spit and I barely know them. My hope is that by recording what I see and hear that in time my recollections can paint a more dynamic picture of them and this rich and beautiful collection of communities we call home.”

Along the way you have amazed me with your hospitality and love of the land and water. I have met farmers, sailors and longtime homesteaders as I drove around the Peninsula seeking stories. Civic activists among you have bent my ears on life on our Peninsula. Some have invited me into your homes to chat about your lives.

regatta 050413

The Longbranch Marina Regatta opened boating season on the southern tip of the Key Peninsula. It also provided an opportunity for residents to pay tribute to Geoffrey L. Baillie’s work in getting the marina bridge rebuilt.

I can tell you it has not been boring. There have been plenty to do and even more to see. I have dropped in for pancakes and juice at the Longbranch Improvement Club house. I can still picture the glorious summer day I spent with dozens of you on the docks of the Longbranch Marina. I watched and listened to your warm tributes of Geoffrey L. Baillie — certainly one of your own — for having had the vision and fortitude to see through the rebuilding of the marina’s bridge.

“He did it because he thought it was the right thing to do,” Lisa Bryan, a friend, said back then.

Bryan’s words epitomizes the spirit that is the Key Peninsula. Nothing seems impossible for the hearty homesteaders who call this place home.

Many of you swung open the gates to your farms and gardens in October, welcoming residents and visitors to experience life on the Peninsula.

farm tour #15 100513

The farm tour in October offered visitors an up-close look at life on a farm.

“Farming is alive and well on the Key Peninsula,” said Bill Ketts, president of this year’s farm tour and proprietor of Blue Willow Lavender Farm. “It has been a vital part of its history.”

The pride you have of your home is evident in your enthusiasm — the joy in your hearts adding a spring to your steps.

The artistry in your ranks also impressed me. For instance, the display of artful scarecrows along the highway was amazing. The many artisans among you quietly crafted creations that would be welcome inside the most discriminating of galleries.

The care you have given to enriching your children’s lives warm my heart. From your young ball players on their field of dreams at Volunteer Park to the budding musicians who discovered their rhythm at “Drum Fest,” there is no shortage of rewarding activities for them to enjoy.

drum camp#1 090813

Your children discovered their rhythm at Drum Camp in Volunteer Park.

My lovely bride and I are blessed to be living on this lovely finger of land with front row seats to the beauty and grandeur that is the Puget Sound. It is an honor to call all of you neighbors.

Thank you Longbranch for such a wonderful year.

sunrise 110413

My Lovely Bride and I have been treated to quite a show along Drayton’s Passage.

3 responses to “Longbranch Chronicles marks one year of stories and pictures

  1. We have enjoyed getting your pictures as well. I would still like to get a Longbranch Cookbook to you as I used some of your photos in my watercolors that illustrate the cookbook. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

